ClickEquations Blog

A Serious Look at Paid Search Marketing Strategies, Tactics & Tools

The Economics of Quality Score

In the paid search world, Quality Score is the new black. Blogs, forums, conferences, and Twitter are full of discussions of what quality score is and how you can optimize it.

laptopmoneyBut the real importance of quality score has been a bit hard to pin down. Not any more – we’re going to reveal the exact $$ value of quality score.

UPDATE: Since this post was written, we’ve learned an important new fact about Quality Score – the numbers we’re shown are reported as integers between 1 and 10, but these are not the numbers or scale Google applies to in their formulas. Rather, they’re representative of the actual Quality Score in terms of 1 being poor and 10 being great. Knowing this, it seems unlikely the specific math and results described in this post are correct. The positive and negative effects of good and bad quality score remain true, and hopefully the numbers are roughly proportional. We’ll update this post further when we get more information.

Why Does Quality Score Really Matter?
The prominence of quality score has been based on it’s role in Ad Rank – the formula Google uses to determine the position in which your ad appears. Ad Rank = Bid x Quality Score.

But Quality Score also plays a very important role in determining how much you’re charged per click. This is a separate application of the value which occurs after Ad Rank is calculated.

The recently released Google Video by Google’s Chief Economist, Hal Varian helped clarify this point.

In the video Mr. Varian points out that your cost-per-click is calculated using the formula: Ad Rank of the ad below yours / your quality score.

So if you’re in position #1 with a quality score of 5, and the ad in position #2 has an Ad Rank of 10, your cost-per-click is 10/5 = $2.

So What Is Quality Score Worth?
Knowing this is how cost-per-click is calculated, we’re able to determine the specific impact of any quality score on your cost-per-click.

And therefore the exact cost or savings from any single-digit increase or decrease in your quality score.

Yes that’s right – we can tell you the specific change in your CPC that is due to the quality score you’re getting for each of your keywords.

For example, your QS=10 keywords are enjoying a 30% CPC discount as compared to if they were QS=7 and in the same position. And your QS=4 keywords are paying a whopping 75% premium for their position.

The table below contains the complete list. This details the positive or negative impact quality score is having on the CPC prices you’re paying.

These factors are true regardless of your bid, position or those of your competitors. These are the impacts of Quality Score on your cost-per-click, anywhere, anytime.

The-Impact-of-Quality-ScoreAs you can see, there are serious savings to be had with high quality scores (8, 9, or 10) and very high penalty costs to low quality scores (6 or below).

How We Calculated These Numbers
We calculated these values by comparing the impact of quality score on the price established at a wide range of Ad Rank values. This analysis showed that when QS was applied as the denominator of the equation, the Ad Rank values didn’t matter – the impact of each step of quality score was consistent. (Check out the raw data). So it was a simple task to compute percentage of impact each different QS had on CPC.

qs-distributionNote that we set QS=7 as the neutral value because using ClickEquations to review a wide range of accounts we’ve seen that QS=7 appears to be the mean quality score across a very large and diverse set of keywords.

In other words, most keywords get QS=7, that’s the typical score. So quality scores better than 7 can be considered better-than-average and thereby beneficial, and quality scores lower than 7 are lower-than-average and detrimental.

Two Important Disclaimers

1) Since quality score is used to first compute the Ad Rank and then to influence the CPC, you wouldn’t actually have the position you do if you didn’t have that quality score.

So it isn’t exactly accurate to say that your keyword is paying 30% less for position 1 at QS=10 than at QS=7, because in most cases you wouldn’t be at position 1 if you did have a QS=7. I think the relative value for each QS remains valid and valuable.

2) Google very likely calculates quality score not as an integer but as a real number (you your QS isn’t actually 6 but rather 6.329498) which means the impact would be more linear and not in the big steps the charts suggest. Thanks to commenters for pointing out that this fact was left out of the original post.

What Does A 1-Point Change Cost You?
Based on the same numbers, this next table documents the economic cost or benefit of having your quality score move up or down by 1 point.

quality-score-level-by-levelAs you can see, if your QS=9, then moving up 1 pt (to QS=10) will give you a 10% CPC discount. Starting from that same QS=9 and losing 1 pt (to QS=8) will result a 12.5% % CPC increase.

A Clear New Reason To Improve Your Quality Score
Knowing that your quality scores are saving you up to 30%, or costing you up to 133%, should further motivate everyone to both know and work to improve your quality scores.

In ClickEquations we have a lot of features that can help you improve quality score:

  • We list QS (and the related Min First Page Bid) right next to each keyword so you can watch them carefully.
  • Our ClickShare metrics tell you which ad groups and keywords aren’t getting as many clicks as they should – and why – which can help you drive up CTR which is by far the largest driver of quality score.
  • Our ClickVariance metric tells you when you’ve got keywords in ad groups which are under-performing based on CTR, so you can move them into their own groups and write more applicable ads, or pause/delete them – thereby driving up average CTR
  • Our complete search query detailed reporting lets you add new keywords and phrases that users have proven that they click on
  • Our multivariate text-ad testing tool is the best possible way to drive up CTR – often by 2X-5X which skyrockets quality score
  • The Quality Score Distribution template in ClickEquations Analyst lets you keep a direct eye on how your entire campaign is doing relative to Quality Score – and we’ve just updated it to show the actual $$ saved and expended due to the quality score cost numbers released in this post.

qs-distri-impact

Click To Enlarge

And A Warning
One small word of caution regarding the existing, and likely to continue, flood of tips on improving quality score. Be very suspect of anything which promises to improve quality score by any method other than improving click-through-rate.

Relevance has it’s place. But both the new Google Video and other recent disclosures make clear that CTR drives quality score. You will not have meaningful impact getting your keywords into your text-ads, grouping keywords in better ways, and many of the other tactics getting over-hyped in some quarters. Relevance plays a supporting role, as does landing page to an even lesser degree, but both are trumped and trounced by CTR. Get great CTRs and you’ll get great QS’s. There is no other route.

Summary
We hope you’re as excited as we are about the discovery of the true economic benefit and cost of quality score.

Another small victory for transparency in the paid search process. Which means another tool to help us manage PPC in High Resolution.

To learn more about quality score, read our complete Quality Score blog post series from several months ago, or check out the replay of our recent Quality Score webinar or our SMX presentation on Quality Score Tips on video.

Related posts:

  1. Secret Truth Series #11 – How AdWords Quality Score Impacts CPC The Max CPC and quality score of...
  2. Chapter 5 – The Impact of Quality Score This series of blog posts did eventually...
  3. Quality Scores and Quality Score Drivers A cornerstone of High Resolution PPC is...
  4. Quality Score and Bid To Position A lot of advertisers have keywords on...
  5. Google Quality Score Gains More Importance Google is again modifying both the calculation...
  6. Quality Score Changes (Bid Taxes Going Up?) I always wonder if Frank Luntz invented...
  7. Quality Score Final Thoughts (for now) Over the past 7 days we’ve been...

  • http://www.silverdisc.co.uk/ Alan Perkins

    Nice article.

    However, QS is *reported* as an integer but is probably *stored* as a floating point number. An increase in reported QS from 7 to 8 could actually mean an increase from 7.49 to 7.5 (i.e. almost nothing) or, at the other extreme, from 6.5 to 8.49 (i.e. nearly 2).

    It's unlikely that a one point change in reported QS would map to a one point change in real QS. Your numbers map to real QS, but we don't get to see that.

    Interesting nonetheless. The potential of changing QS has been demonstrated. Thanks.

  • http://www.alexlcohen.com digitalalex

    Hey Alan,

    You're absolutely right. We could be more precise if Google was more precise in how they reported the data. Directionally, the data still underscores the value and worth of time spent on QS.

    -Alex
    Marketing Manager, ClickEquations

    PS: Craig is leavin' on a jet plane for skiing, so I'll be reading and responding.

  • http://clickequations.com Craig Danuloff

    Thanks Alan – You are exactly right, or at least I assume you are – I don't know that Google has every confirmed that QS is internally calculated to more levels of precision, but we assumed that as with PageRank that is true. Didn't think to express that in the tables.

    My guess is that by watching carefully we can see if in fact there are steps between the levels. Thanks again for bringing this up.

  • http://www.roirevolution.com Chris

    This is amazing insight — thanks for taking the time and having the genius to come up with these hard numbers!

  • http://www.marketingbyweb.co.uk Claire Jarrett

    Incredibly useful article, many thanks for this.

  • http://www.clickequations.com/blog/2009/03/why-its-called-first-page-bid-estimate/ Google Adwords First Page Bid Estimate (Why It’s An Estimate) | The ClickEquations Blog

    [...] I can only surmise (I have no direct information from Google on this) that this proves it really is an estimate. The actual bid required to be on the first page varies on a query-by-query basis. (Our post on the Quality Score discount or penalty.) [...]

  • http://optimizeyourlife.net/the-impact-of-google-quality-score-on-bid-prices/ The Impact of Google Quality Score on Bid Prices
  • http://suburbanstartup.wordpress.com/2009/03/26/the-science-of-marketing/ The science of marketing « Diary of a Suburban Startup

    [...] really hit home when I was reading a very good post from ClickEquations called “The Economics of Quality Score”. In this article Craig Danuloff wrote: So What [...]

  • http://andybeard.eu AndyBeard

    Quality Score also doesn't have to be linear and Google often present things in a much more simplistic way than they are actually calculated.

  • http://www.clickequations.com/blog/2009/04/bid-and-cost-per-click/ Surprise: Your Bid Doesn’t Determine Your Cost-Per-Click | The ClickEquations Blog

    [...] One early impact was finally understanding exactly how quality score impacts your cost-per-click. [...]

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    [...] The Economics of Quality Score [...]

  • mbaguru

    I totally agree with your point in which you have mentioned that quality score is not an integer rather a real number because I have seen in my adwords campaign that the same keyword in different ad group with same Quality Score have different FPBE.

    So this thing proves that QS 7 doesn't mean only 7, it has something inside it due to which the FPBE is different for the same keyword in different ad group.

  • http://searchengineland.com/varian-shares-adwords-secrets-%e2%80%93-will-he-bring-transparency-to-google-24968 Varian Shares AdWords Secrets – Will He Bring Transparency To Google?

    [...] the math behind the calculation of both position and CPC in AdWords. Suddenly we could quantify the economic cost or benefit of Quality Scores and Quality Score [...]

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    [...] ‘Introduction to the Adwords Auction’ video and it sparked one of our most-read posts (The Economics of Quality Score) in which we took his information and used it to determine the financial of specific Quality Scores [...]

  • http://jeffdemers.com/?p=251 Jeff Demers.com » Blog Archive » links for 2009-09-24

    [...] The Economics of Quality Score | The ClickEquations Blog best blog post on quality score every (tags: adwords ppc qualityscore) [...]

  • http://www.losasso.com/idrive/sem-minute/quality-score/ Maggie

    Great use of charts to demonstrate the economic benefits of a higher quality score!

  • http://www.bravenewme.com/ Magnus Nilsson

    Great post, agree calcs probably aren't precisely accurate but still a very good indication to understand the correlation of qs and cpc penalty.

  • http://www.bravenewme.com/ Magnus Nilsson

    Great post, agree calcs probably aren't precisely accurate but still a very good indication to understand the correlation of qs and cpc penalty.

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    [...] After some amount of time your seedlings will be ready to transplant outdoors. This will allow for your plants to begin to grow and produce efficiently. In the same regard, at a certain point, some keywords that perform well need to be transplanted or graduated into their ad groups in order to maximize their results. When we do this typically we will promote a broad or phrase match keyword to an exact match keyword. As an exact match keyword we are also more willing to pay a little more for that click since the expected conversion rate is higher than keywords set to broad or phrase matches. Setting up selected well performing keywords into their own ad groups not only has conversion potential, but also has the opportunity to receive cost cutting Quality Score benefits [...]

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    [...] je gemiddelde CPC wordt. Wist je dat door een verbetering van de kwaliteitsscore van 7 naar 10, je gemiddelde kosten met 30% kunnen dalen? Op PPCSummit.com staat een interessante post over een aantal manieren om je kwaliteitsscore te [...]

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Related posts:

  1. Secret Truth Series #11 – How AdWords Quality Score Impacts CPC The Max CPC and quality score of...
  2. Chapter 5 – The Impact of Quality Score This series of blog posts did eventually...
  3. Quality Scores and Quality Score Drivers A cornerstone of High Resolution PPC is...
  4. Quality Score and Bid To Position A lot of advertisers have keywords on...
  5. Google Quality Score Gains More Importance Google is again modifying both the calculation...
  6. Quality Score Changes (Bid Taxes Going Up?) I always wonder if Frank Luntz invented...
  7. Quality Score Final Thoughts (for now) Over the past 7 days we’ve been...